Sometimes you don’t get what you want…

If your retreat starts off with learning that the guest master has lost your reservation, it may be a sign that things may not go so well.

While I didn’t mind doing the spiritual work I did for others while I was there, “working” on retreat is not restful.

If your intuition tells you to go home, you should listen to that voice.

I’ve outgrown the abbey as a retreat place. I’ve learned what I’ve supposed to learn there, and now I have to think about where I want to go instead. It’s not that the abbey isn’t beautiful or peaceful, but…

But the whole experience on retreat this time around did push me into releasing stuff from around graduation a couple of days after I got home.

So, I didn’t get the retreat that I wanted, but I suppose I got the retreat that I needed.

Mostly.

Now, I’m starting a new ministry project. I applied for a business license in order to be able to charge for some services. I’m still building the church. I’ll be starting open office hours on Skype. I’ve finally set myself up to wash the fleeces I’ve been hanging on to for awhile.

I’m moving forward. Still have a bit of post-graduation blues, but it’s not quite so bad today. It’s still kind of weird to knowing that I don’t need to be signed up for classes and such. (Although, I want all my grades to post!)

One day at a time, right?

2 thoughts on “Sometimes you don’t get what you want…

  1. Rev. Lee Whittaker

    Yep. Sounds like the needed retreat and not the wanted retreat. I’m sorry. I know what you mean about the post-graduation blues. I’ve been pushing myself out the door some days, and that has helped. I’m looking forward to hearing about your plans. Let’s do lunch soon. BTW…grades are in.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

